American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Foundation


The American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Foundation






Scholar Committee

Current Scholars

Former Scholars

Scholarship Booklet


Donate to AAOGF

Click the button below to make a donation to AAOGF using our secure, online system.

Click here for more donation options


Search our Site


Bridge Funding Award: Request for Proposals

Click here for previous recipients

The American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Foundation (AAOGF) is pleased to announce that the foundation is currently seeking applications for bridge grants. These awards are made possible with generous support from the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) Education Foundation and the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG). The AAOGF Bridge Funding Award is designed to stabilize research programs of promising physician scientists in obstetrics and gynecology who have not been successful in obtaining independent research funding or who have a temporary lapse in funding. This award will be for a one-year period from July 1, 2019 to June 30 2020.

Bridge funds are intended to enhance the likelihood of successful application for other funding opportunities by enabling ongoing research productivity and by ensuring that essential research personnel are not lost due to lapses in funding. Priority will be given to those programs with a strong likelihood that the investigator will be able to successfully apply for independent extramural funding by the end of the award. The proposed research should address important problems in obstetrics, gynecology, or women’s health. Basic and translational research projects are encouraged. Under-represented in medicine (URM) physician investigators are encouraged to apply. Applicants who have successfully completed a funded research training award (e.g. AAOGF/ABOG, AAOGF/MFM, RSDP, K, T or F Award, or other mentored training award) are encouraged to apply. Each award will be for up to $75,000 for one year. No indirect costs are allowed.

Successful candidates must agree to provide a progress and financial report, and attend an annual research retreat sponsored by AAOGF during the period of the award and immediately following the conclusion of the award. Successful candidates must also agree to respond to periodic requests for information regarding their career development.


Investigators who are at the rank of assistant professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology or above, who have successfully completed a mentored research award or have previously had an R01 grant and who have applied for funding but who have not been successful in either obtaining or maintaining independent research funding may submit an application for this award. Investigators who currently have an R award for the period of funding are not eligible. Submission of critiques of recent funding applications for the project must be provided with the application. Assurance of adequate protected research time for the research project and a delineation of financial support provided by the applicant’s Department or institution will be important factors in considering applications.

Contact Information:

Potential applicants should send the application materials electronically by April 1, 2019, to Amy Chetelat at 

Inquiries regarding this RFP should be directed to Amy Chetelat, AAOGF Administrative Director.

Tele: (443) 640-1051 ext. 1103
Fax: (443) 640-1031

Required Application Materials:

  1. A six-page proposal written in abbreviated NIH grant format (1 page of Specific Aims, a 1 page maximum statement of Background and Significance, 1 page of Preliminary Data and 2-3 pages of Experimental Design and Methods). The font type should be number 11 Arial.

  2. A cover letter from the applicant.

  3. CV of the applicant, including funding record.

  4. A letter of support from the Department Chair. The Chair’s letter must include a clear statement of the protected time for research available to the applicant and detail any relevant mechanisms that will be in place to ensure protection.

  5. A letter of support from the current or former Research Mentor(s), if applicable.

  6. A personal statement that includes an explanation of the situation requiring bridge funds and the candidate’s plan to obtain funding.

  7. Copies of external reviewers’ comments for any unsuccessful grant application including a statement of the relative ranking of the application.

  8. Response by the applicant to the issues raised in the external reviews.

  9. Budget and justification, including a brief statement of need and other financial resources available to the applicant.

  10. Explanation of the outcome of any previous bridge fund award.

Applications are due April 1, 2019.
Decision letters will be issued May 31, 2019.
Funding period starts 7/1/2019.



2018 Bridge Grant Recipients

Jesus Gonzalez Bosquet, MD, Ph.D.

Shannon Michelle Hawkins, MD

Emily Miller, MD MPH

Click here for details

2018 Travel Award Recipients

Mae Wu Healy, DO, FACOG, LCDR, MC, USN
Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences
Donald Swartz Award

David Bryan Nelson, MD
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Walter T. Dannreuther Award

Beri Melissa Ridgeway, MD
Cleveland clinic
Henry L. Darner Award

Katina Robison, MD
Women and Infants Hospital Rhode Island
AGOS President's Award

Malgorzata E. Skaznik-Wikiel, MD
University of Colorado Denver
James W. Kennedy Award

Amanda Cofer Yunker, DO, MSCR, FACOG
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
J Bay Jacobs Award

Click here for details

Thank You to Our Current Donors


© 2012 American Association of O


© 2019 American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Foundation

9 Newport Drive • Suite 200 • Forest Hill, MD 21050 • 443-640-1051 • fax 443-640-1031 •

   AAOGF Privacy Policy